Congrats to WHJE Staff at IBS 2019!


Congrats to the 30 students who brought home 62 awards from the Interscholastic Broadcasting System competition!

National Winners – 16 Awards – 12 Individuals as well as the whole station staff

Best On-Air Pledge DriveRadiothon, WHJE Staff

Best Overall On-Air Schedule- Matt Hustel (On Air Director)

Best Radio Drama– Debate Team, Neharika Palivela

Most Creative Programming- ASMR, Lauren Jacobson

Best Live Music Broadcast- Rainy Thursdays: Ross Abdellah, Nate Miller, Bailey Wright

Best News Broadcast- WHJE News, Ryan Dossey

Best Use of Video- Station Website Promo, Bailey Wright

Best Use of Twitter- Ross Abdellah

Best Social Media Manager- Ross Abdellah

Best Community Outreach Event Promo- Ghosts & Goblins Run, Nate Miller

Best Station Promotional Event- Radiothon, Mason Klain

Best Sports Play-by-Play (Other)- Girls’ State Soccer Final, Sam Weixler

Best Hockey Play-by-Play- Sam Weixler

Best Softball/Baseball Play-by-Play- Girls Softball, Jack Edwards & Jace Dery

Best Promo Series- WHJE Promos, Nate Miller

Best Comedy Program- Everything But the Kitchen Sink, Caitlin Varanka

Runners Up – 46 Awards – 30 different students

Best Radio Music Director- Shelby Neal

Best News Director- Abi Draper

Best Sports Director- Sam Weixler

Best Overall Sports Coverage- Sam Weixler

Best Use of Sound Effects- Paige Ohrvall, Nate Miller, Eve Elliot

Best Liner/Sweeper- Maylee O’Brien

Best Station ID- Sam Weixler, Nate Miller

Best Underwriting Spot- Lauren Jacobson, Jack Edwards

Best Sports Play-by-Play, Football- Sam Weixler

Best Sports Play-by-Play, Men’s Basketball- Sam Weixler

Best Sports Play-by-Play, Women’s Basketball- Ethan D’Eramo

Best Sports Play-by-Play, Baseball/Softball- Sam Weixler

Best Sports Play-by-Play, Other- Ross Abdellah (Lacrosse), Jack Edwards & Noah Lichtenberg (Soccer)

Best Sports Talk Program- Charlie Maurer & Jace Dery

Best Sports Update- Sam Weixler, Spencer Pickering

Best Sports Interview- Ross Abdellah, Sam Weixler

Best Sports Pre-Post Game Show- Ethan D’Eramo & Charlie Maurer, Ross Abdellah

Best Live Broadcast Promotional Event- Katie Piedra & Jaishna Sivakumar

Best On-Air Giveaway- Ross Abdellah

Best Website- Noah Lichtenberg

Best Use of Instagram- Ross Abdellah

Best Campus News Coverage- Ryan Dossey

Best Spot News Coverage- Mason Klain

Best On-Air Personality- Connor Inskeep

Best Specialty Music Show- Kate Fairman

Best Live Music Broadcast- Caitlin Varanka, Eve Elliott

Best Talk Program- Matt Hustel & Connor Inskeep

Most Innovative/Creative Programming- Reagan Hune

Best Celebrity/Artist Interview- Connor Inskeep & Caitlin Varanka, Sam Weixler

Best Radio Drama- Katie Piedra

Best Documentary- Kayla Wrobleski, Thea Nikolaou

Best Public Affairs Program- Jaishna Sivakumar X 2 – for 2 different programs

Best Morning Show- Nick Beckman

Best Foreign Language Program- Robert Sanchez